Coming out

It’s been well over four years since I last blogged. I tend to rant to my Facebook friends, in site comments and over email, but I’ve decided to start publishing some of that here. I have a couple of friends who are always asking me to write a book. I doubt I’ll ever undertake such an exercise, but it would be nice to be able to send a link as opposed to retyping the same ideas time and again.

The truth is that I don’t have much in the way of original thought, but I suppose few people do. I write mainly to help focus my mind and to get things off of my chest, but also because I believe passionately in one simple idea – the nonaggression principle.

I find that most people intuitively believe in this principle but unknowingly and frequently violate it. I see this contradiction as the central problem of the human condition. I have found it easy to get people to recognize the contradiction in their own beliefs. At that point each makes a choice – to live with their inconsistent and therefore irrational belief system or to divest themselves of either this principle or their actions that conflict with it. When this clear choice between good and evil becomes evident any meaningful debate is over – a seed has been planted which will eventually bear fruit.

Leave a Reply

