Into the fire

It’s with mixed feelings I chose to depart Microsoft and rejoin the ISV community. What a great experience working with some really talented and motivated people! From all sides the most common questions I get are about how I would compare my role as an entrepreneur to my role following acquisition by Microsoft, and how I made my decision to depart. I’ll make an effort to provide some insights here over time.

In short, I faced a similar decision when I left the best job in the world to become an entrepreneur. When the Navy Captain asked me to think it over, I told him that if I had two lives to live one would still be flying jets off of the pointy end of a boat. When there are many things you enjoy, life is a series of compromises (paraphrasing Sim Simeonov).

Leave a Reply

